external image Sleepers_and_newspaper.gif




Welcome 6th Grade








Week 1

Monday April 11
No School

Tuesday, April 12
Wednesday, April 13



Journalism PowerPoint:
· History of Journalism
· What journalism is
· What journalism is not
· Define Media


Journalism 101: What is journalism exactly? from BBC College of Journalism on Vimeo.


2. Powerpoint on Journalism
Fill in Combination NoteMakeing Worksheet

Thursday, April 14
Friday, April 15
1. Do Now
Headline news story from the Detroit News vs. the
Detroit Free Press
Newspaper Worksheet.doc

2. Name the five parts of a news article


Week 2

Tuesday, April 26, 2011
Wednesday, April 27, 2011
1. Do Now
Headline news story from the Detroit News vs. the
Detroit Free Press
Newspaper Worksheet.doc
2. www.mrsmwilcheski.wikispaces.com
Snap Shots
Journalists as Targets
  1. Choose one Russian journalist who was attacked.
  2. Make a PowerPoint slide about him detailing the 5 W’s and H.

Thursday, April 28
Friday, April 29

1. Do Now
external image msword.png Newspaper Worksheet.doc
2. Continue to work on PowerPoint slide
3. Make-up Assignments

Week 3

Monday, May 2
Tuesday, May 3
1. Do Now

external image msword.png Newspaper Worksheet.doc

2. Get into the Index
· Detroit Free Press Sunday Edition
· Check the index to find the page and/or section of each newspaper item.

Wednesday, May 4
Thursday, May 5
1. Do Now
external image msword.png Taliban use child bomber at start of offensive.doc
external image msword.png Newspaper Worksheet.doc

2. Functions of the Media PowerPoint
· Government watchdog function
· Entertainment function
· Social Function
· Financial function
· Recordkeeping function

3. Label sections of the newspaper according to its function.


Friday May 6
1. Do Now:




2. Make-up assignments


Week 4

Monday, May 9
1. Do Now


2. Make-up assignments

Tuesday, May 10
Wednesday, May 11
1. Do Now


2. Functions of the Media
  • Government Watchdog Function
  • Entertainment function
  • Social Function
  • Financial Function
  • Record-keeping Function
3. Worksheet



Thursday, May 12
Friday, May 13
1. Do Now





Week 5

Monday, May 16
Tuesday, May 17
1. Do Now
  • Entertainment Function

2. The Constitution of the United States

3.
  1. http://www.constitutioncenter.org/BillOfRightsGame/


Wednesday, May 18
Thursday, May 19
1. Do Now
  • Financial Function

2. Bill of Rights

Freedomville


Week 6

Monday, May 23
Tuesday, May 24
1. The First Amendment




Wednesday, May 25
Thursday, May 26



Speech not protected by the First Amendment






Week 7

Tuesday, May 31

Wednesday, June 1

Copyright
Read the following three Scholastic Supreme Court Cases.
Complete the Court Case Worksheet doc.




Thursday, June 2

Friday, June 3

Review Scholastic Journalism

View PowerPoint on the differences between scholastic press and professional press.


Week 8

Monday, June 6

Tuesday, June 7

Students will receive an individual Progress Report.
Students will complete ALL missing or incomplete assignments.

Wednesday, June 8

Thursday, June 9

Unit Test

Friday, June 10

PowerPoint Slide show on the Freedom of Speech
  1. View fomer student's PowerPoint slide shows

2. Choose a topic:
  • What is Journalism?
  • The First Amendment
  • Freedom of Speech
  • Scholastic Journalism (Supreme Court Cases)
  • Speech that is not protected by the first Amendment
  • Freedom of the Press
3. Slide 1
  • Title and your name
4. Slides 2-6
  • Research Topic
  • Organize information in slide form
5. References
  • Web sites (Search Enginges like Google and Bing are NOT web sites.)

6. Rubric


Week 9

Monday, June 13

PowerPoint Slide show on the Freedom of Speech
  1. View fomer student's PowerPoint slide shows

2. Choose a topic:
  • What is Journalism?
  • The First Amendment
  • Freedom of Speech
  • Scholastic Journalism (Supreme Court Cases)
  • Speech that is not protected by the first Amendment
  • Freedom of the Press
3. Slide 1
  • Title and your name
4. Slides 2-6
  • Research Topic
  • Organize information in slide form
5. References
  • Web sites (Search Enginges like Google and Bing are NOT web sites.)

6. Rubric

Tuesday, June 14

Continue to work on PowerPoint presentation

Wednesday, June 15

Thursday, June 16

View Powerpoint Presentations

Have a Great Summer!



















constitution.pdf














LaBron James New York Times

LaBron James ESPN































File Not Found
File Not Found





mindmapping500.png











History of photography

























History of Photography


George Eastman



Civil War Photography


http://videos.howstuffworks.com/tlc/29839-understanding-comparing-the-eye-to-a-camera-video.htm

http://videos.howstuffworks.com/discovery/27700-assignment-discovery-louis-daguerre-video.htm









http://videos.howstuffworks.com/science-channel/37735-deconstructed-camera-flashes-video.htm










Five Freedoms Channel


















Scholastic Supreme court Cases



Ten tips for photjournalists




Photojournalism







News Photos

Civil War Photography Web Quest

The Great depression



Dustbowl photos





Girl from iconic Great Depression photo: 'We were ashamed'






6th Grade Syllabus